Walkthrough - One last Cup of Coffee

The idea for this painting had been on my mind for quite a while, but I never felt I had enough time to do it.

Finally, after all tests for the last semester were done, I just decided to start. To draw my protagonists proportions correctly I chose to use a reference this time.

I began with the figure in the foreground. After some work on the face I was not satisfied at all, so I reworked it completely. Even though I am rather fond of black hair, I switched it's colour during that process.

 

I continued working on my character and added some more texture to his skin. After finishing him more or less I painted the wall he sits on. In this step I did every single brick as well as the plaster adorned with a few delicate cracks.

Afterwards started working on the background.

 

First my sketchy buildings became solid grey blocks. That looked nice but not very similar to an actual building. For the last layer of buildings I simply copied the blocks from the foreground.  I also added the first windows, more texture and tried to make one of the central buildings look more destroyed.

 

The next step was really difficult for me.

I never painted planets or large sky scenes bevore, in consequence that was quite a challenge for me. Therefore, this did not turn out perfectly - as expcted ;) - but I think it is definately nice for a first try!

 

After I mirrored the whole painting to spot more mistakes, I got a new problem. I could not decide about the basic layout at all! So I played around with mirroring different parts of the painting to get a feeling for the options I had. This step took much more time than it should and I stopped working on that piece for some days.

 

 

Finally (and after asking a lot of friends and followers) I decided for one of my options and continued painting.

 

I added more dusk and dirt to the destroyed city and finished painting (and copying) the windows. Furthermore I tried to draw some little details to make the whole place more vivid.

The sky as well as the planets got more texture and I added more light and contrast to the whole scenery ( I even changed the direction of the illumination on the buildings). I added more light and shadows to my beloved character in the front and the wall, too.

This was nearly the hardest part of the whole process, as it meant finishing the picture. And declaring a painting as finished is not as easy as it seems ;)

Write a comment

Comments: 1